NakedSecurity reported a new Facebook scam pretending users to connect with Facebook’s new video calling feature. As you all may have read in news, Facebook has teamed up with Skype to bring you a new feature in Facebook chat, Video Calling, which allows you to make live face to face chat with your Facebook friends. According to NakedSecurity, one of the largest IT Security blogs by Sophos.com, clicking on the link provided by this scam can cause serious damage to your computer as well as loss of valuable personal data, through Phishing.
Facebook has not announced the video calling feature to users officially yet, but scammers have already started posting links telling you about the new Video calling app- Video Calling: Talk to your friends face to face. The link may appear on your Facebook wall as shown below, asking you to click on it and start face to face chat with your friends.
Clicking on the bogus link will take you to a very familiar page, Request for Permission, where Facebook prompts you if you would like to allow the app to have access to your Facebook data. If you allow, then you will be spammed by asking you to fill up surveys and stuffs, by making the evil creator earning referral fees. Not only that, you put your friends at risk too. Please don’t be tricked by this scam!
The correct way to begin a video conversation is by clicking on www.facebook.com/videocalling. As you can see in the image below, Facebook has not started letting users use Video Calling feature yet, apart from some lucky users who may be able to. I still can’t access it…
Do you find this information useful? Share it with your friends on Facebook, Google+ or Twitter or your other Social Media. You can also follow me on Twitter @sarayoo.info or Google+ or Like me on my Facebook or on my LinkedIn for regular updates, technology tips and tricks, iPhone, iPad, other iOS devices tips, iOS App Deals, Blogging tips, etc. Please leave your comments in the comment section or contact me if you have any other questions.